In the modern education system, there is an ongoing debate about what should be the pattern for examining student’s knowledge? Some people claim that written formal examination is not right method because it creates unwanted pressure on students. On the contrary, the number of the people think that it is the right way to testing knowledge in limited time. In subsequent paragraph, I will discuss both pros and cons of writing based examination.

To begin with the advantages, there are innumerable benefits of this pattern. Firstly, students cannot cheat because students should write an exam in examination hall where it is not possible to copy; however, in an assignment based examination, students get assignments form internet and can take help of their friends and relatives. Secondly, it enhances the comprehensive ability and time management of students because hours of examination are fixed.

On the flip side, some people claim that it is not at all good way to examine students’ knowledge because no one can examine the student’s abilities on the basis of two to three hours exam. Sometimes students fluster due to unnecessary pressure of examination and they forget everything; however, the student can be brilliant in that subject. Also, this pattern is based on related to extracurricular activities which play a vital role in student life.

In the nutshell, the foregoing discussions propound that both sides are valid as a student point of view. But I personally feel that schools should assess the student’s knowledge on the basis of both practical and written as well.