In many circumstances, optimism—the expectation that one's ideas and plans will always turn out for the best—is unwarranted. In these situations what is needed is not an upbeat view but a realistic one. There are times when people need to take a tough-minded view of the possibilities of success, give up, and invest their energies elsewhere rather than find reasons to continue to pursue the original project or idea.

Adapted from Martin E. P. Seligman, Learned Optimism.

Is it better for people to be realistic or optimistic? Plan and write an essay in which you develop your point of view on this issue. Support your position with reasoning and examples taken from your reading, studies, experience, or observations.

The Subconscious part of the brain is much more powerful from the conscious. Thus if one is guided optimism-that is strong enough to be in the subconscious part, one is likely to succeed. Optimism is one of the factors that unleashes the power of the brain and motivates a person to move forward while tough-mindedness of the thought of being realistic, most of the times make people give up. Thus, it is better for people to be optimistic.

Robin Sharma who wrote the bestselling book “The Monk who Sold His Ferrari” discusses the power of optimism. Thorough his book he teaches people to be optimistic and discipline themselves in such a way that no negative thoughts come to their minds. The protagonist of the story is a young and successful lawyer who so stressed that his health declined and his mental powers failed. This lawyer goes to some monks who guide him into rediscovering himself and teach him basic principles of life. The teachings of the monks help the lawyer regain his health and mental stability.

Many a time people feel that they are expending their energies in worthless endeavors and it is better for them choose a new path. But such people are too impatient to wait for good results. One should not change one’s goal but change the institution or path to achieve it. There are myriad examples of scientists ,entrepreneurs and successful professionals who faced terrible setbacks but continued to persevere in their goals. Thomas Alva Edison the inventor of the bulb failed two hundred times before he could make a functional bulb. He tried numerous experiments and finally got the appropriate conditions. Had he given up his goal there would have no beautiful lights illuminating houses for another decades.

Sometimes we feel too lost to continue on our goals. However, one should remember that if one door closes another opens . I remember that when my friend and I were making a model for history we felt that we would not be able to finish it on time. Thus we decided to switch to something easier. But my friend’s grandmother was optimistic encouraged us to continue our project because we had gone very far. Many of our structures collapsed and there was a lack of materials. Nevertheless, with the use of me household materials and simple methods we were able to complete our project and got the first prize for it. Thus, both of us learnt the lesson that optimism and hard work pay off.

One should never be tempted to take an easy. Sometimes if one takes a wrong decision and feels no passion for a job then it is right to change one’s path. But only because one has failed many times it is cowardice that is termed as tough –mindedness to change one’s goal