is memory central to our progress?

Memory is extremely important to our progress as a whole. It is one of the few features that makes us different and special. Our ability to recall events that happened in the past and do with as we see fit has enable us to pass knowledge from generation to generation. Through memory we are able to progress, protect and learn from one another unlike any other species.

The advancement of science has its foundations on the passing and sharing of knowledge. Today, we are capable of manipulating nature to fit our cause. We are capable of flying to the moon and maybe even colonize other planets, something our grandparents would have thought to be a child’s far-fetched dream.

Without memory, we would be no different from our mammalian counterparts . It is memory, the storage of data at a biological level, which makes us human. We are able to feel pain, love and loss through it. If we hadn’t had these features we would have been at the bottom of the food chain, an evolutionary wastage.

It is without a doubt that I say that memory is at the core of human advancement. It has enable us to progress, to transcend beyond evolutionary limitations and give meaning to this short life we have.