People are difficult to govern because they have too much knowledge

Humans are very hard to control or lead, because they know too much about everything. So, following rules and regulations becomes difficult. Because, they believe that they know more than the person who made the rules and regulations. When things like this happen, it ends up in disagreement. Because, the person in charge wants to be obeyed but the person he/she is leading decides not to obey.

In 2012, the Nigerian government ban the use of motorcycles, because they discovered a lot of roads accidents were caused by the motorcycle riders. But, instead of following the instruction issued by the government, the riders chose instead to continue their normal operations. Most of them gave reasons why they didn't obey the government. Some said it was their only source of income, while others claimed they enjoy riding. The decision not to obey, only increased the number of accidents caused by motorcycle riders from 45% to 60% that year.

When I was 16 years old, my Dad found out that I had a girlfriend and was furious about it. He told me to end it and focus on my studies. But, I refused because I thought I knew more than he did at that time. It all ended badly because my Dad cut my allowance by 50% and that year I had my worst result ever.

When people don't follow instructions, it most times ends badly. For example, an employee was asked by his employer, to produce a certain quantity of a particular product. The employer felt that if he produced more than he was asked to, it will bring in more profit for the organisation. So, he produced more than he was asked to. It turned out that the employer only needed the exact amount he asked the employee to produce, because at that time the organisation was in debth and the production of more than what was required put them in greater debth.

We all have a certain level of knowledge, sometimes we even know more than those who are older or more experienced than we are. But, it is aways good to listen to those in authority, and find out why they are making certain decisions, instead of disobeying them. Because, there is always a lot to learn, no matter how much you think you know.