As you read the passage below, consider how Christopher Hitchens uses • evidence, such as facts or examples, to support claims. • reasoning to develop ideas and to connect claims and evidence. • stylistic or persuasive elements,

In Christopher Hitchens passage, “The Lovely stone”, he persuades his audience that the original Parthenon sculptures should be returned to Greece. He persuades his audience by using a wide variety of techniques in his passage. Ultimately, he uses personal anecdote and evidence in his passage.

Hitchens uses personal anecdote in his passage. An evidence of this in the passage is, “ I’ve written a whole book about this controversy and won’t oppress you with all the details, but would just make this one point. “ (Hitchens 4) This shows that hitchens had personal experience with this topic. This allows other people to believe in him, because he has had past experience with this.

Hitchens also uses evidence in his passage. It states in his passage, “Except that half the cast of the tale is still in Bloomsbury, in London, having been sold well below cost by Elgin to the British government in 1816 for $2.2 million in today’s currency to pay off his many debts. . .” (Hitchens 3) This shows that Hitchens got facts from a different place, such as the news. This makes other people know that other people agree with him.

Hitchens tries to tell everyone that the original Parthenon sculptures should be returned to Greece. Although he uses a lot of special techniques, he uses two that help out the most. The two are personal anecdote and evidence.