The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

lIn the passage, the author recommends the interview-centered method to investigate with child-rearing traditions in Tertia and positively predicts its validity. Quite convincing though such recommendation appears at first glance, the author's recommendation might be implausible due to several unsubstantiated assumptions which, if prove unwarranted, will seriously challenge the author's recommendation.

To start off, the author's recommendation heavily relies on the assumption that the author's recent interview is objective, sufficiently demonstrating that children in Tertia have been reared by their parents. Based on the assumption, the author therefore raises a question about validity of Dr.Field's previous conclusion. However, such assumption is potentially problematic, because such interview led by the author may only collected limited samples. Moreover, nor do we know how children describe their parents during the conservation. If it turns out that the author just collects a small proportion of children samples that could not represent overall status in Tertia, or children's talking about their parents is mainly about the lack of care from them, the author's reasoning will be weakened.

Furthermore, even if the aforementioned interview supports the author's previous assumption, we need to re-examine another assumption that Dr. Field's conclusion is unwarranted and therefore the observation-centered approach becomes invalid as well. It is possible that Dr.Field and his team resorted to incorrect investigation method, which greatly weakened its conclusion's validity. Also, it is of equal probability that such approach just couldn't fit for the case of Tertia. If any of the aforementioned possibilities is true, we are inclined to believe that observation-center approach may still be applicable for cultural investigation, despite its failure in the Tertia's case.

Last but not least, while all of the assumptions mentioned above prove valid, the author's recommendation is still unnecessary due to the assumption regarding the efficiency of undergoing research conducted by the author's team. Claiming that his or her team composed mainly by students will gain a much better result, the author seems too optimistic. It is possible that graduate students lack sufficient skills to establish a well-designed investigation, which leads to inaccurate data and impacts the efficiency of the ensuing conclusion. Also, the author hastily comes to the conclusion that villagers are willing to accept further investigations, but doesn't discuss whether they don't want to expose their private status any more. If students were too young to grasp with key factors of interview-centered method, or local residents disgusted with further cultural research, the author's rosy conclusion about a better comprehension about Tertia's child-rearing cultures will turn out untenable.

In summary, whether we should implement the author's recommendation heavily hinges on the validity of the aforementioned assumptions. If any of the aforementioned assumptions prove unwarranted, the author's recommendation could become little more than his or her wishful thinking and therefore he or she should resort to other solutions rather than sticking to his preferred interview-centered approach.