The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because of these developments, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the passage, the author recommends investing in Consolidated Industries, because of the prediction of increasing demand for heating oil. To support his/her claim, the author cites the extremely cold weather in recent years together with local weather forecasts. Furthermore, he/she also uses a series of evidence to demonstrate a drastic increase of home building in this area. Quite convincing though such recommendation appears at first glance, a closer scrutiny reveals that the conclusion lacks crucial supports and therefore we should consider more evidence to help evaluate such recommendation.

To start off, we need more evidence to verify if the harsh climate condition will continue as the author's prediction. While the author shows local weather forecasters' prediction for the continual cold winter climate, no evidence serves to rule out the probability that such prophecy mayn't occur, considering unpredicability of the Earth's climatic system. Thus, extra evidence gains great significance to determine whether this area will be continually dominated by such extreme weather during the winter. If new evidence shows that such harsh weather is just a sort of temporal phenomenon, it is safe to claim that fuel demand for heating is unlikely to increase and his/her reasoning will be weakened. On the contrary, if new information discloses the opposite situation, his/her viewpoint will be lent more support to.

Furthermore, we also require additional evidence to ascertain whether new building houses will bring about increase of oil heating demand. First of all, while local residents may stay in their new house and go through the whole winter, we still need to check with new evidence about whether they would migrate to other places to escape from the inclement weather. If a great number of people would like to move to warmer places instead of keeping at their new house, the soaring demand of oil fuel is in great doubt and his/her reasoning will be rendered much less advisable. Second, we need to decide whether people would still stick to traditional oil heating and blindly ignore other new and more economic ways of house heating. If they will resort to solar heating which effectively avoid oil consumption, we are unconvinced that oil heating demand will increase accompanying with the construction of new houses.

Last but not least, despite the presence of all previous evidence, a more accurate evaluation of the author's recommendation requires further information. Specific evidence is required to evaluate whether Consodilated Industries could fully seize on such increasing requirements of oil fuel and make great profit out of it; that is to say, whether such company is running on a good track for its business so that investors could gain their expected financial benefits in the future. If the answer is positive, his/her recommendation will be strengthened. Otherwise, if the management team of this company is highly incompetent and even have severe corruption issues, or their employees don't have sufficient passion to make contribution to its development, we are reluctant to believe that investors can grasp with their expected profits.

In summary, the evidence cited by the author in the argument could not provide sufficiently conclusive information to make his/her argument compelling. As a result, we need more evidence to better evaluate such argument.