The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. This demand and the overall increase in clothing prices will make Sartorian's alpaca overcoats more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the passage, the author mentions about the recovery of wool fabric supply and predicts further profitability of Sartorian after such recovery. Quite convincing though such recommendation appears at first glance, the author's recommendation might be implausible due to several unsubstantiated assumptions which, if prove unwarranted, will seriously challenge the author's recommendation.

To start off, the author's recommendation heavily relies on the assumption that the new supplier could provide sustainable and qualified wool fabric to Satorian. Based on the assumption, he suggests that Sartorian could of no doubt recover to previous production level. However, such assumption might be untenable, because it is possible that new supplier cannot get stable provision of raw materials as a result of its inferior supply chain of raw materials. Nor do we know whether such provision could live up to the quality compared with previous supplier. Moreover, we also have no idea about how Sartorian verify all of such new supplier. If it turns out that this supplier lacks of continual raw material providing, or its quality is much worse than before, or there existed severe issues in Sartorian's verification process, his/her aforementioned reasoning will be weakened.

Furthermore, by claiming that customers' dissatisfaction and no competitors in the market, the author stays optimistic about bright future of alpaca coats' success. However, we cannot decide whether such assumption is reasonable. It is possible that their previous customers had felt great disappointment and therefore permanently left. Also, it is of equal probability that competitors had already been able to produce more premium products, so they didn't care about offering a comparable product any more. Moreover, customers might vary their viewpoints about alpaca overcoat and turn to a more lightweight coat. If any of the probabilities is true, we are inclined to believe that Sartorian might not meet with soaring consumer demand, even if they are able to reproduce with this product.

Last but not least, while all of the aforementioned assumptions prove valid, the author's recommendation may still be unnecessary due to the assumption regarding the efficiency of profitability after price increase of Sartorian's alpaca overcoats. Arguing that more financial gains can be get by price adjustment, the author seems too optimistic. It is unreasonable to assume that customers will keep indifferent with price increase, especially those with financial difficulties. Also, the author hastily comes to the conclusion that the overall revenue of alpaca overcoats can overshadow its cost, but doesn't discuss whether the whole production might lead to even higher cost that cannot be remedied by its accompanying financial gain. If customers eschew with new product because of its higher price, or new production process will make it impossible to make profit any more, then the profitability of Satorian's alpaca overcoats is still questionable.

In summary, whether we should implement the author's recommendation heavily hinges on the validity of the aforementioned assumptions. If those assumptions turn out groundless, the author's recommendation could become little more than his/her wishful thinking and Startorian may need a reconsideration about their plan.