The following appeared in a newsletter published by the Appleton school district.

"In a recent study more than 5,000 adolescents were asked how often they ate meals with their families. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Furthermore, according to the same survey, teens who reported having the most family meals per week were also the ones least likely to have tried illegal drugs, tobacco, and alcohol. Family meals were also associated with lower rates of problems such as low grades in school, low self-esteem, and depression. We therefore recommend that families have as many meals together as possible. We predict that doing so will greatly benefit adolescents and turn troubled teens away from bad behaviors."

Write a response in which you discuss which questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the passage, the author recommends teenagers to have more family meals in their daily life because of positive results for their behavior and academic performance. To support his/her claim, the author cites a recent survey in the Appleton school district and illustrates some detailed information. Quite convincing though such recommendation appears at first glance, there exist several questions regarding his/her lines of reasoning that requires further analysis. Thus, the author's recommendation could end up being pretty compelling or invalid in the end, depending on the answers to the questions.

To start off, the author's recommendation heavily relies on whether such survey reveals the real situation of teens' family meals, a question that is not yet answered. It is possible that responders in the survey didn't tell the truth, because they were eager to establish their positive images in the survey. In the meanwhile, it is of equal probability that they didn't utilize such meals to well communicate with their parents, listening to their advice for study and life. Such phenomena could seriously challenge the validity of family meals' effects mentioned above and render his/her reasoning much less advisable. On the contrary, any valid proof that teens really had meals together with family and treated it as a precious learning opportunity will strengthen his/her recommendation.

Granted that the survey reflects the truth of family meals, whether it plays a positive role in students' behavior and academic performance is another question that requires a second look. Behind the author's reasoning lie two critical implications. The first one is that less trial for illegal drugs, tobacco and alcohol of teens results from their family meals. However, the probability that parents may not talk about deleterious results of the aforementioned cases must be considered and addressed. Yet, if parents really gave a lot of suggestions or warnings to students for deterring them from doing those behaviors, his/her reasoning will be lent more support to.

Furthermore, the second implication is that students' positive attitudes about study and school life can be attributed to family meals. While an agreeable family environment created by frequent meals may contribute to this, the possibility that students may receive more pressures from family meals could not be precluded in advance. For example, parents may make use such opportunity to force them to study hard, causing more learning pressures. Therefore, we have no clue whether students' positive attitude to study and campus life is closely coupled with family meals. If no, the author's reasoning seems unreasonable. Otherwise, we may consider the author's reasoning as tenable.

Last but not least, while we can acknowledge for a moment that all of the aforementioned advantages given by family meals are true, it remains to be seen whether it could help troubled teens away from bad behaviors. Other factors, such as how they retrospect their own behaviors, or whether they fully recognize their own faults, could also impact the author's prediction. If none of them would like to accept their incorrect behaviors, or even be reluctant to think about their former behavior, then turning them to betters one would become little more than the author's wishful thinking.

In summary, while family meals may be beneficial to students' development, this is not a conclusion that we can derive from the information available in the argument. Even if it is, whether it could help troubles students come back to the right track is still an assertion that is open to different possibilities. Only after the aforementioned questions are adequately addressed can we efficiently evaluate such recommendation and reach a logically sound conclusion.