The best way to teach — whether as an educator, employer, or parent — is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

The author contends that most effective way to teach is to praise positive actions and to ignore negative ones. While praising positive actions and ignoring minor mistakes are advisable to an extent, the statement overlooks the consequences of excessive praise as well as benefits of constructive criticism. Teaching is a holistic process that aims to develop the skills of students by praising their achievements while addressing their shortcomings through critiquing their work.

Verily, praising of positive actions by parents, teachers and employees has many fold advantages. Appreciation motivates students to excel in their studies. For example, a student takes initiative to study the books beyond the standard syllabus. When a teacher praises such a venture, he would gain a sense of satisfaction and confidence to continue with his endeavor. Additionally, his peers, in an attempt to solicit such adoration from teachers, would be tempted to take similar initiatives, thereby, propelling all of them to higher academic success. Likewise, by giving the deserved plaudit to the employees, managers can guarantee greater loyalty and contribution from the subordinates while ensuring a healthy workplace ambience. Similarly, young children realize the virtues of positive deeds when praised by parents

Moreover, excessive and unwarranted criticism is detrimental for the psychological well-being of children, students, and employees. Mistakes are an inevitable by-product of natural learning process. When students are reprimanded for every wrong answer, unfounded doubts, etc., they lose the motivation to learn and confidence to engage in the learning process. In the offices, an atmosphere of surveillance and a non-pardoning nature form the boss would diminish the employees’ trust and commitment to the work. Similarly, when children are scolded by parents for every trivial misdemeanor, they lose interest and curiosity in exploring and learning from their surroundings. Therefore, it is indeed advisable to ignore minor mistakes that naturally stem from the learning and work process.

However, beyond these concessions, the author’s recommendation has some cautions. Foremost, excessive praise is equally damaging to the psyche of students, employees and children as undue criticism. If a teacher excessively adores a student, he may grow in overconfidence and begin to underestimate his peers. He may also start inculcating complacency; and would then never develop his skills and knowledge. Moreover, the teacher would lose respect and credibility in the eyes of other students. Similarly, a manger heaping uneven praise on particular employees would be perceived as discriminatory by the others who would feel alienated. On the other hand, children lose the value of praise and, thus motivation for positive work, when flattered too much.

Finally, an amount of constructive criticism is also necessary while teaching. Critical judgment is necessary for students to learn from mistakes and address their shortcomings. Therefore, teachers must not shy from providing a critique of students’ assignments, projects, and tests. Obviously, actions that disturb the classroom learning warrant appropriate punishment. Similarly, managers have the responsibility to critique employees’ output for their professional development. They must also safeguard them from bullying and harassment by adopting a zero tolerance policy towards such behavior. Lastly, children must be reprimanded for behavior that risks their lives as well of others by explaining them its consequences.

In conclusion, the author’s binary recommendation of praising positive actions and ignoring negative ones is counterproductive. Whether praise or criticism, if excessive and exclusive, both are psychologically damaging for children, students, and employees. Judicious admiration for positive work as well as constructive criticism for mistakes are indispensable part of holistic teaching process for educating students, promoting employees’ growth, and upbringing children.