Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

Each one of us today tries to achieve their dreams they have thought of from the childhood. The dreams have been shared by various factors, influence from our parents, teachers and heroes. With an endeavour to achieve these dreams we work tirelessly intending to fulfil them. However, it would not be right to not to allow people some people to follow their dreams just because of the selfish characteristics.

The perception of worthy goal is a very subjective and a personal one. The definition of a worthy goal may not be the same of different persons. For a painter, a worthy goal would be try to match his capabilities to that of Leonardo di Vinci. For an actor, a worthy goal would be to try to win an oscar with his capabilities. Hence, it would be morally and ethically wrong to force someone on picking worthy goal as per another person's opinion. In addition, if a painter was forced to take up a worthy goal such as a scientist or a social activist just because of non selfish nature then it might also be possible that no significant contribution would have been made. Moreover, the lack of interest is also paramount. If someone is forced to take up goals which is out of his interest, it is very much possible that full efforts would be put in achieving this particular goal.

Moreover, another question that arises is how can one determine if one's dreams are selfish or not. Just because it does benefit a large number of people, doesn't justify the dream of someone to be classified as a selfish dream. Considering the example of Usain Bolt, a sprinter, has worked tirelessly in achieving his dream for running the 100m race the fastest. In addition, he in fact achieved the world title of the fastest sprinter in 100m race and holds a world record. This might seem to be a selfish dream because this world recognition doesn't provide any benefit to the people but solely to himself. Hence, if the athlete was forced to give up this dream, just because of its selfish nature, it would be very much inappropriate and would be termed as coercion.

Nonetheless, there might be some endeavours which target towards destruction and loss of human life. An illustration to elucidate it-a teenager might be bullied by the seniors in high school or college. There are very often cases in which the victim becomes so much humiliated and victimised, that he sets his dream to take revenge against his enemies. Moreover, there are even instances in which the victim ends up killing his bullies. This type of endeavours are necessary to be stopped, because not only they are selfish but more importantly parlous.

Thus, in a nutshell it can be concluded that it is very much difficult to classify dreams which are worthy and selfish. Moreover, it would not be appropriate to stop following from any particular dream just because they won't align with greater interests towards the mankind.