Claim: Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts.

Reason: Politicians and other government experts are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the general public.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

When major policy decisions are concerned in our society, how to better devise them and lay down them efficiently has been always an heatedly discussed topic. Someone argues that significant decisions of public policies should be left to politicians and other government experts, because they are well educated and thus have better judgement and perspective than the general public. From my perspective of view, such viewpoint may stay true under some circumstances. But this doesn't mean that it wouldn't lead to some negative consequences for our society. It is also worth to point out that government should keep open mind to public voices in order to serve its major purpose.

To start off, considering the better background and field experiences of most of politicians and government experts, we should give them more freedom to make great decisions in most cases. It is because their unique abilities and deeper insights that help them better consider many different factors and finally come to more comprehensive decisions for safeguarding the public interests. This is something that can't be accomplished by the general public. Roosevelt's New Deal Policy well exemplifies my viewpoint. It is because of his unique insights given by years of economic working experiences that he conjured up a marriage between free market and government regulation, which can't be proposed by the people without such background. It is also thank to such policy that the states had stepped out of the Great Depression and started one of the most greatest revivial in its history. From this perspective, both of the reason and the claim part stay tenable.

However, tenable as both the reason and the claim hold in the aforementioned case, I have to contend that indiscriminately giving rights to politicians and experts of public security to draw important policies may backfire, when they don't possess high morality and even take advantages of such privileges to just meet with their own needs. If this is true, many inappropriate behaviors of those government officials are more likely to occur, like misconducts, inappropriate use of public resources and so forth. Therefore, the exclusion of others' involvement in the policy-making process may lead to deleterious results that we don't want to see. For instance, a negative side of the New Deal Policy is that some government officials had taken sides when allocating resources during regulation of free market. Some of them might only allow those companies which gave them a great amount of financial benefits to engage with the most important projects, excluding those more suitable candidates. In this sense, only left significant policy-making to politicians and fields experts mayn't even serve our purpose to make a better society in the long run.

Last but not least, what I feel the most questionable part of the issue is that the author blindly deprives the chance of joining public decision from the general public. As a matter of fact, many of the demotic, even without proper knowledge about how to devise public policies, can well contribute to a more sensible decision. The essential reason is that they are major participants of public activities, from education to economic, therefore their voices really matter a lot for us to devise more sensible decisions and guarantee our society's prosperity. For instance, when coming to internet era, governments in many countries strive to fully utilize the power of widespread internet. However, as far away from people's daily life, government officials even can't imagine what the most urgent demands from the people, which should be prioritized first and put into the their top list. By letting the public joining the process of demand collection, Chinese government has gathered most of their daily requirements, which help them prioritize their requirements and designate a better public policy, especially when urgent situations, such coronavirus breakout.

In summary, while I partially agree with the viewpoint that we should let politicians and field experts to take charge of public decision, adherence to such policy without any surveillance about their behavior might also lead to detrimental effects. Furthermore, considering the fact that most of people well understand the real situations and can illustrate their requirements, I still argue that allowing them to join into this process can be more beneficial.