Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In modern world, efficacy of laws have always been a central topic in our society. Nevertheless, some people keep a pessimistic attitude to actual effect of laws. There even exists a claim that problems in today's world are unable to be settled down by laws and legislative system, because laws lack powers to change human's internal wills. From my perspective of view, it is undeniably true that morality laws can't cast a decisive influence on people's personal life. Following this logic, we can't expect morality laws to realize a better society by restricting personal freedom. However, when turning to business fields, morality laws could play a more fundamental and irreplaceable role.

To start off, I have to express my appreciation for the reason part of this issue. To be specific, morality laws can't reshape human's personal life, since people can always be able to circumvent harsh laws and ultimately give way to more lenient laws consistent with their favorable life. The failure of American teetotalism and legislation is a case in point. Initially U.S. government had enforced a harsh regulation for forbidding alcohol abuse for men, but it finally turned in vain as proliferation of surreptitious bargains. Furthermore, similar cases also apply for recognition of same-sex partnership and acceptance of physician-assisted suicides. In short, all of the past experience inform us that putting personal desire into the cage of morality laws simply doesn't work.

Furthermore, so far as the idea that construction of greater society can be achieved by restriction of personal freedom is concerned, the claim of the issue is of no doubt untenable, because the ensuing costs will certainly outweigh its benefits. For example, those who advocate criminalization of drugs use might cites various detrimental for their stance: increasing citizen violence, endangering people's health status and diminishing addicts for medical usage. However, those defenders neglect the truth that such restriction doesn't prevent substance abuse at all. Inversely, it compels the addictive to undertake surreptitious sales via illegal channels, or even steal from medicine providers. In this sense, anticipated risks definitely overshadow benefits that we can gain from.

However, when it comes to business world, I have to concede that morality laws is necessary to avoid detrimental influences of enterprises casting on every citizen. It is determined by avaricious nature of business that enterprise tend to take precedent of profits over any other goal, such as public interests. Consequently, businessmen surely dare to risk public benefits, if their decisions could help them grasp with huge profit return. Such example abounds in our surrounding world. For instance, even if modern technologies well serve to tackle with pollutants and turn them innocuous to the environment, business owners of factories, which generated deleterious wastes, still refuse to invest in equipment which lead to such positive change. Because it could undertake additional expenditures and inevitably diminish their ultimate revenue. Therefore, without mandatory regulations devised by the government, we can't imagine that they would involuntarily sacrifice their profits and cater to public interest. From this perspective, only morality laws, which impose restrictions on business behaviors, could avoid those mercenaries to deteriorate our society unfetteredly.

In summary, while I accept with the reason part of this issue and the claim part of this issue is also applicable for personal domain, extending such practice to business world could further avert negative results for public duty. That is to say, morality laws pale its significance in term of more personal domain, but they are still capable to preclude potential risks caused by business world.