Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Reason: It is inappropriate—and, perhaps, even cruel—to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs are not being met.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

A country is considered a well to do nation when all the citizens have their basic amenties like food, shelter and employment. When a particular nation is unable to provide adequate number of jobs and food to people, then they should rather try to devote the funds and effort in alleviating this critical problem rather than spending public funds trying to promote arts.

The consitution of democratic nations state "Right to live" as one of the most fundamental concepts. If the concept is looked into thoroughly, it can be extrapolated to a simple notion of "Right to food", because food aids in the survival and well being of human beings. Thus, when a signifcant proportion of people of a nation are going to sleep hungry, it becomes the responsibility of the Government to find ways to provide adequate amount of food for the hungry citizens. Moreover, a Government can only help in providing food at low or free of cost only when it has adequate amount of funds. Henceforth, if a government begins allocating funds to promote arts rather than spending it on procuring food for the hungry, then it is very wrong, because it not only violate the basic guidelines of the constitution but also promoting the death of our fellow human beings. In addition, art is something that can be considered as some sort of luxury not a basic need for survival. On the contrary, there are several private organizations and charity that funds the promotion of arts by organising concerts or even exhibitions.

Apart from the above, if a person is unemployed or going to bed empty stomach, he will have no inclination towards art. In addition, for the citizens, who are paying tax to the government for the upliftment in the society, realise that the public funds are rather utilised for secondary issues like art rather than on more pressing issues like hunger and unemployment, there will be a negative vibe and dissent among the tax paying citizens of the country. Most importantly, nation's well being is mainly decided by the unemployment rate and the number of poor people, not by the amount of funding used in promoting arts. Hence, it would not only be inappropriate but also detrimental for the nation if much of the public resources is used in promoting arts rather than trying to mitigate the problem of hunger and unemployment.

Nonetheless, some may feel that not allocating funds for arts is detrimental for a nation, because it will not help in protecting the cultural heritage of the nation or in addition many artists may become unemployed, thereby aggravating the problem of unemployment. However, this does not in any way promote the fact more public resources should be allocated in promoting art rather than on food and employment, which are basic needs of survival.

Thus, in a nutshell, we can conclude that for a Government it is very much essential to first alleviate the problem of hunger and unemployment rather than trying to allocate public funds in secondary pursuits such as promotion of arts.