It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is popularly believed that nation's cultural traditions are mainly generated and preserved in metropolises. However, may we concur with this claim? Perhaps, only partly owing to the fact that big cities indeed accumulate nation's conveniences; at the same time, the traditions are well preserved and generated in regional towns and villages. The reasons of my stance will be discussed in details below.

To begin with, nation's conveniences are accumulated in metropolises in particular capitals. Those major cities represent the country and tend to collect and display its' national ceremonies and traditions. For instance, we may take a look at Kyoto which is a former capital of Japan. The city is well-known for its festival of fire which takes place each winter. In fact, this megalopolis is embodiment of Japanese culture, nation's attitude to life which is demonstrated via nation's ceremonies and conveniences. You may assume that Japan is an exemption but you may take a look at Paris, Berlin or Oslo and you will see that all of those capitals proudly display their nation's features and traditions.

However, it is mistaken to assume that nation's traditions are preserved and created exclusively in those metropolises. In fact, regional towns do the job as well in particular when we have a deal with countries which include many nations. For instance, Russia and China were created by conquering new territories; people who live in those territories have become part of the country but they still live in their historical locations and stick to their nations’ conveniences. Consequently, each local town represents local nation and its traditions. In fact, almost each region of Russia has its own holidays which reflect the conveniences of the nation which inhabit it. For instance, people of Tatarstan regularly organize competitions which reflect their traditional nomadic life-style, other nations do the same. From this viewpoint, capitals represent averaged culture and regional cities and town preserve and accumulate conveniences and traditions of local demos.

Furthermore, we ought to devote our attention to rural areas and villages where people have still led a traditional life style. In those areas, mores, ceremonies and traditions are interwoven with everyday life and preserved untouched. For example, we may find villages in Siberia which still do not have electricity and the internet as well as other contemporary conveniences. People who live in those areas stick to traditions which for instance they wear national clothes, cook local cuisine etc. For them nation’s traditions and ceremonies are a part of routine. For example, wedding ceremonies are preserved and full of meanings for those people. Those traditions play significant and important role in their life. From this prospect, such villages play a role of storage of nation’s conveniences. Such villages may be found in China, Brazil and even the USA.

In conclusion, although many of us believe that nation's conveniences are generated and preserved primarily in major cities, it is only partly true owing to the fact that regional towns and rural villages do the same job as well.