A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Social Contract is nothing but a set of invisible rules which are imposed upon the society. It is basically a set of rules which helps to avoid conflict among people and helping in retaining peace and harmony in the society. Hence, any person who has committed a crime has definitely broken the social contract, but not allowing him to retain civil rights would be wrong.

When a person commits a crime knowingly, he is very much aware of the consequences that follow after his action. But in spite of that, he decides to commit the crime. What is important to note here that a person when willfully commits a crime, there is something major that is at play, which is driving him to commit the crime. Most of the reason can be attributed to some sort of revenge. A person when is determined to have a revenge, even the most dire consequences of the punishment does not deter him from moving ahead in executing the crime. Thus, in this case not allowing him to retain any civil rights or right to benefit from his own labor would be wrong, because it is very much important to understand the reason for his revenge. No matter how much social contract is in the society there is always an inequality in the society. After the 9/11 attack in US, muslims who were even under a little bit of suspicion, they were detained by the investigation agencies and were tortured for long duration even when they were innocent citizens. Moreover, even when they were found innocent they were still continuously subjected to third degree torture even upto a month and in addition devoid of any civil right. Thus, when these innocent finally become free they are very disturbed and their faith upon the social contract and civil rights are destroyed and all they wish to seek is revenge. Hence, in this case when this person commits the crime with full conscience, and then he is devoid from his civil rights, it will make him even more alienated from the society and thus this will reinforce the violent behavior of the convict. Thus, the reason behind the commitment of crime is a very important factor before trying to snatch the person's civil rights.

Another example would be the people who are serving in the army. When they attack on another country they are doing so in their full conscience. Hence, if they are captured by the enemy then they can make him devoid of civil rights and torture him to the worst possible extent, however that is generally not the case. In fact, an United Nations convention states that even if an army personnel or soldier is captured by the other country, he still retains the basic civil rights which are set by the United Nations. In addition, this convention is agreed by a majority of countries. Hence, the notion of alienating a person of his civil rights just because he has committed a crime knowingly without trying to find the reason would be wrong.

However, there are also cases in which a person knowingly commits a crime for no good intentions. A simple illustration would be the persons who commits rapes. These people who commit rape have only one intention that is to fulfill their sexual desire. Hence, in these cases the person should not be given any civil rights whatsoever.

Hence, in short, it is wrong to snatch a person's civil rights without doing a research in finding the motivational force. Thus, rather than making an outcast from the society, it is important to introspect the other parameters of the crime.