Requiring university students to take a variety of courses outside their major fields of study is the best way to ensure that students become truly educated.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement

Tacky, tactful, tactically. The judgmental mind behind this sentence finds his grandmother’s décor “vulgar,” so

the first blank should be a synonym for that. Tacky fits the bill. For the second blank, you need a word that describes

what it is not to tell your grandmother you find all her knick-knacks ugly. Rancorous is the opposite of what you want,

and doting, meaning “be extremely fond of,” goes too far. Tactful fits perfectly. For the third blank, you need a word

that describes being nice to someone in order to get a good birthday present. Amicable doesn’t capture the strategy of

it, but duplicitous is way too negative (it means “deceitful,” which is not really an apt description for the act of

refraining from telling your grandma that she has terrible taste). Tactically, meaning “by way of showing adroit

planning,” is correct.

101. Warded off, mutiny. The second half of the sentence says that the crew became frustrated and decided to take

matters into their own hands, implying that they took over the ship. Mutiny fits perfectly. (A sea change is “a

profound transformation,” while a putsch is “the overthrow of a government.”) For the first blank, you need a word

implying that the captain tried to fight off the mutiny. Dissuading is something you can do only to people (i.e., “I

dissuaded the pirates from mutinying.”). Warded off means “fended off” or “averted,” which is perfect here.

102. Aleatory, dispensations. A “birth lottery” is offered as an example of the sort of element the first word

describes. Since a lottery is random, based on chance, you would like your first word to be something like “due to

luck,” and that is just what aleatory means. The second word looks to be roughly synonymous with “gifts.”

Dispensations will work there, while encumbrances and piques are both negative.

103. Perquisites, abide. For the first word you want something like “non-salary rewards,” and the only word that

means that is perquisites (often informally abbreviated as “perks”). The word but tells you that Anne did not leave for

a larger salary, but stayed for the perquisites. For the second word you want something like “stay,” and only abide can

have that meaning. (Abide more commonly means “tolerate” or “wait for.”)