Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

For years now, there has been much debate about whether and to what extent corporations must be held responsible for their impact on society and the environment. As the Industrial Revolution kicked into gear, corporations ran wild with their ideas for maximizing profits, ignoring the damage they leave in their wake. This is when people started voicing the opinion that since corporations benefit from society and the environment, they should be held accountable for the damage they cause. I mostly agree with this view for the reasons explained below.

To begin with, corporations flourish only because of the resources - people and natural resources - which they utilize to make goods and provide services. Were people not willing to provide labor and the government not allowing use of natural resources for profit, corporations would not be able to operate at all. It is, then, their moral duty to expend some of their profits for the benefit of those they so readily exploit. Take for example, the egregious oil spills that have been happening for the past few decades all around the globe because of accidents involving company ships carrying oil. Not only has the aquatic ecosystem in the affected areas destroyed beyond measure, but many of the companies responsible have washed their hands of the debacle, claiming the accidents to have been an act of God. While government agencies and independent non-profits have been researching ways to clean up the spills, almost no oil mining company has come forward to contribute. Keep in mind that this has been happening while Corporate Social Responsibility mandates do exist. Imagine what would happen were they not required by law to shoulder the burden that they themselves often cause.

Further, the exorbitant power that corporations have over the government makes it wildly irresponsible to legally exempt them from any social responsibilites. Corporate lobbying has had undue influence on politics around social and environmental issues ever since it was invented. Consider the recent rollbacks of Obama-era environmental regulations done by the Trump administration. Endorsed and financially backed by companies with vested interests in coal, oil, and other non-sustainable ventures, the current President has deemed it fit to allow lowering the environmental standards that companies must meet in order to manufacture and sell their products (such as cars). If further allowed to avoid being held responsible for the damage that they cause, companies might become hard to shake off the government's shoulder, so to speak, and might accumulate so much power that the government will cater to their needs instead of the citizens', whom it was sworn to serve and protect.

One might argue that as the primary objective of a corporation is to maximize profit above all, it would be illogical to expect them to do anything else that undermines that objective. For this reason, many countries create incentives that entice corporations to do their duty towards the people and the natural environment from which they so profit. The incentives are in the form of tax cuts for upholding environmental standards, working with the community to solve social issues, and in turn being allowed to advertise their social and environmental consciousness to attract customers. This is a win-win situation in which all parties may fairly benefit.

To conclude, while it is true that corporations are created primarily to make their stakeholders money, they must be held accountable for the impact they have on the resources that enable them to do exactly that. Unless laws and regulations are formulated to that end, we run the risk of letting companies run rampant with their incessant profit-seeking behavior at the cost of everybody else.