It is important for travelers and business people to understand the cultures they come into contact with, however briefly. What are the main advantages of doing so? What do you think is the main disadvantage of not doing so?

It is self-contradictory that these days the number of people who are willing to travel to other countries for running a business or sightseeing has been increased considerably. It is also worth considering that being familiar with the cultures of people in the host country makes a myriad of gains as well as handicaps that could be caused by a paucity of information about social background of people in the destination.

The first point that deserves consideration is that travelers can benefit from knowing the language and some qualities of people in the country that they are going to. In simple terms, they can communicate with people straightforwardly and the more visitors have awareness of the cultures, the more they can enjoy their trips. On the other hand, if travelers do not know anything about some taboos in the host society they have to contend with some catastrophes. Take for example a visitor who makes a gesture that has a pleasant meaning in their own culture but in the host society is too insulting and reprehensible and as a result the person has to quarrel with citizens instead of enjoying their time.

Nevertheless, a businessman who wants to make a profit and run a lucrative business in another country ought to have some knowledge about interests and aspects of people in that country. Otherwise, he cannot be successful. For instance, a person who imports some conservative clothes into a country whose people are not religious. Consequently, everything goes badly and he cannot sell anything.

In a nutshell, it is essential for visitors and business people to get to know and be familiar with some aspects of people’s personalities in the host country to be able to enjoy their journeys and run a profitable business.