Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The upsurge of large innovative companies results in their international branches in most countries around the world. Therefore, citizens can shop for the same popular goods in their own countries, even developing ones. This phenomenon has brought both motives and drawbacks to both citizens and manufacturers.

On the one hand, the fact that people can buy the same products everywhere has helped improved society remarkably. Firstly, it creates harmony among countries, which assists greatly in the integration of immigrants into new cultures. Since the industry and the way people dress is almost the same, newcomers will find it familiar and easier for them to settle down and become citizens in new environments. Secondly, because the same products are equipped similarly, the discrimination rate also decreased significantly. For example, workers from Indonesia or Malaysia will feel less pressure when working in a multi-national company in Singapore since there is no difference in their clothes, accessories and other equipment as well. As a result, citizens, especially who come from undeveloped and ethnic regions will benefit greatly from the current trend.

On the other hand, various negative impacts also arise from similar products consumed by people worldwide. The first detrimental consequence is that the trend will cause great damage to the national products of a country. In fact, people tend to use big international brands because they are affordable and common as well. Consequently, industries and retailers are forced to close due to the lack of customers. Moreover, the special feature of a culture, which is costumes and traditional clothes, is also affected tremendously since people do not have the need to wear them frequently. Therefore, the image of a tradition will soon be faded.

From all the above-given, the trend that nations are becoming similar because of the availability of products in almost every country contribute positively to human’s lives; however, it also causes several damages to domestic aspects. A government should control the flow of international products to the country strictly in order to preserve its national values.