Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favouring more computer based subjects instead.

Is this a positive or negative development? What are the reasons for this?

Nowadays, students at school and university have a tendency to study computer based subject instead of science. It could be double-edge knife for the development of the country, because there is no new invention without science, but the computer technology would make people life easier.

In the long history, science was vital for the state development. The revolution of industry in The UK was the great example, which the rapid changes of invention could improve the nation quality. The Great Britain suddenly become the top country in the beginning of 1960’s. In addition, science would help the nation to reach its top position above other states. The US is the best evidence, the discovery of computer and internet which is both of them are from the US, produces The US becomes the best country in technology.

On the other hand, science cannot stand alone. The recent situation is totally different compared to the previous era. The expert said that today is Society Era 5.0, when the people cannot stay away from the technology. Computer will be integrated to every human activities, while science could be forgotten. For example, nowadays people tends to use application to go to some places by Go-Ride platform, while the traditional model was being abandoned by the society. The Platform such as Google, Grab, Gojek are going to need workers who is experts in Computer, so it provides students prefer to study computer than science.

In Conclusion, science and computer are important for the development of the country. Both of them have a positive impact. So, fewer students studying science instead of computer should not be a negative impact, but the government must enact a regulation to guarantee that in the future students not only learn computer, but also science.