The high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which the goods are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modernization era, people’s demand for shopping is increasing significantly. Some people contend the idea that the high sales of products result in the advertisement process but not the needs of consumers. However, I do believe that both two factors lead to the rising sales of goods.

On the one hand, the high sales of popular products result in people’s needs for their real lives. Firstly, citizens in some industrialized nations and also developing countries have more diverse and complex demands than previous decades; therefore, they tend to buy more consumer goods for themselves and their families as well. Moreover, we are living in a globalization culture; thus, people’s appetite to use international best seller products from home furniture and groceries to gardening equipment also generally increases. Additionally, the more their social statuses are higher, the more items they want to match their positions. For example, the need to buy hundreds of shoes of an international singer is highly acceptable since she needs suitable pairs of shoes for different types of clothes and accessories. As a result, the sales of popular consumer products are believed to continuously increased.

On the other hand, advertising plays an important role in the development of manufacturers. The first interesting fact is that products, especially cosmetics, baby products, clothes and the like, with advertising focusing on target impressionable customers like women, students and mothers are usually sought out. Moreover, the adverts also appear frequently on the Internet, televisions, leaflets, buses, and banners, which reinforces the appetite of having those products in consumers’ minds. Another effect of advertisement is that the use of idols, especially female models, attracts numerous customers. For example, car companies usually advert their products along with the appearance of beautiful and gorgeous women.

In conclusion, the increase in sales of popular goods is affected greatly by both people’s needs and the strength of advertising. Customers in the twenty-first century should spend money wiser in order to economize and gain benefits from the products.