Human activity has had a negative effect on plants and animals all over the world. Some people think that it is too late to do something about it. Others think that there is still time to take effective action. Discuss both view and give your own opinion

In recent years, a great deal of attention has been paid to human activity and its negative impact on the environment. While some may view this as irreversible, others may be of opinion that we should take any action. I personally believe that there would be something possible to protect the environment.

First of all, we can expect that governments play a significant role in this field. Today it is widely known that global warming is a major factor of the extinction of many species of animals and plants. If governments introduce laws to limit emissions from factories, or, impose “green taxes” on drivers and airline companies, this will help to reduce carbon emissions that cause global warming. What’s more, individuals can also try to be greener. Nowadays the amount of household waste is more and more growing, and this waste ends up in landfill sites. If we avoid buying over-packaged products, or recycle and reuse useful materials as much as possible, this will finally lead to save wildlife habitats.

Some may think that it is in vain to protect the natural environment at the sacrifice of our daily life. There is no doubt that it is difficult to completely throw away our modern life style dominated by consumerism. The question here is, however, how we can harmonise environment maintenance and human activity. In my opinion, the answer is possible; we can choose environmentally more friendly life style of our own will as I wrote above.

In summary, even though the negative impact on the natural environment from human activity may be significant, there is still plenty of room for improvement.