In many cities, there is little control on the design and construction of new houses, so people can choose to build houses in their own styles instead of building them with the same style as the old houses in the local area.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, a growing tendency towards design and construction can be witnessed in many cities. In fact, rather than sticking to shared similar architectural patterns of the local area, a large number of urban dwellers have opted for more personal designs in their newly-constructed houses. From my perspective, the disadvantages of this tendency are far weightier compared to its benefits, which will be meticulously explained as follows.

On the one hand, completing houses based on owner’s individual styles offers two major advantages. it stands to reason that this pattern of construction allows the owners to make use of their creative mind, thereby enabling the emergence of exquisite and one-of-a-kind houses which might act as appealing destinations for tourists locally and internationally. Another benefit would revolve around the boost of construction industry. If an owner is given ample opportunity to freely construct their houses, it will cater for different individual demands in terms of building materials and transportation within their budget. these factors not only seem closely linked to a growth of employment rate but also exert positive influences on the construction industry in the long run.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that houses built according to individual taste in lieu of the overall local style present more drawbacks. Indeed, local planning might suffer given the appearance of strange-looking designs that, to a certain extent, jeopardise the conventional exterior local look. An increasing number of architecturally inconsistent houses within the same area will also be attributed to a loss of a traditional structured environment where unique characteristics have long been preserved. this is perfectly exemplified through the image of Hoi An - an old quarter known for its promising tourism potential which is currently at risk due largely to the erection of modern, French-influenced high-rise buildings. these new architectural patterns, consequently, do more harm to age-old local houses imbued with Vietnamese traditional life styles.

In conclusion, despite several merits that the construction of houses depending upon individual preferences might bring about including tourism and building industry improvement, I personally contend that this trend is more disadvantageous on account of its possible destruction of local architecture and deteriorating influences on local planning.