Many parents complain that computer games have no value to their children’s studies. On the contrary, those online games have produced a lot of negative effects on their mental development. What is your opinion?

The upsurge of online games is extremely undeniable in this technological era. There are more and more children who are keen on playing computer games, which worries their parents a lot due to the bad effects of those online games.

The first severe effect that online games bring to children lives is that they cause addiction. The more time children spend on playing, the more addictive they will be. Therefore, children have no extra time for their study and social relationship. In terms of their schools, the images and contents of the games are stuck in their head almost all the time, so they cannot concentrate well in lessons and also their school performance will be detrimentally affected. Moreover, they do not have much time to do homework, group projects or even extra-curricular activities in order to improve their knowledge and soft skills. Additionally, due to the fact that they spend a great amount of time on playing and socializing with virtual friends, not only the relationships among their real friends but also their family members will be faded significantly. In fact, they tend to live a lonely life and do not want to make friends since they believe that their game characteristics and online acquaintances are enough. Consequently, online game addiction causes great consequences on students’ lives.

In addition to the addition that online games bring to players, they are prone to suffer from several health problems since their habit of sitting and looking at the computer screens for a long period. Their indulgence of online games has resulted in their physical health, especially eyes and back. For example, most online games players have short-sighted eyes and obesity since they are lack of physical activities. From their mental health’s perspective, they are subject to a passive lifestyle. Children are afraid to go out and make friends, participate in group-working activities, or even playing sports. Moreover, they also become more violent and aggressive since they online games consist of numerous fighting, shooting and hitting scenes. As a result, they are believed to easily commit to social crimes if their appetites are not approved.

From all the above-given, computer games not only affect students’ school performance but also their mentality and physical conditions; therefore, parents and schools should observe their children carefully in order to protect them from the tremendous consequences of online games. Besides, authorities should enact legislation to control the quality and content of online games as well.