Many people think that every individual is responsible for their happiness, but some people believe there are other external factors that influence us. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some people believe it is sorely ourselves who can make us happy, others suppose some individual variables affect our happiness. In my opinion, each one of them has the truth, and balancing the two elements would be the key to be happy.

On the one hand, the reason why some people think that nothing other than themselves can make them happy is that they assume happiness something subjective in its nature. From the perspective of these people, it is impossible to rely on external subjects to be happy, because the definition of happiness varies from person to person. Such an attitude is specifically prevalent among the people like chief executive officers or politicians who are highly self-reliant.

On the other hand, the cause why the people in the opposite side regard external factors as essential to become happy is these people admit that there are limitations on what we can do by ourselves. These limitations lead the people to the direction where they tend to think happiness as a kind of grace coming from outside. This is especially epitomised in the psyche of religious people who are always wishing some of divine intervention.

Both of the two opinions are reasonable and understandable respectively, and therefore, I personally believe that we should be balanced between them. For one thing, it is unhealthy if we abandon the effort to make ourselves happy on the pretext of the existence of these external factors. That is, if such an enervation is prevail among a society, this will stagnate its economy and lose the social vitality as a whole. For another thing, at the same time, it is also unsound never to admit there would be something unchangeable and uncontrollable. Namely, if we always try to do something with everything at any cost whilst not knowing our own limits, it will definitely lead us to a kind of paranoia.

In conclusion, our own responsibility and external factors are indispensable together in order to be happy, and if we truly wish to be so, it is the key to accept the things we cannot change, and change the things we can, as the famous Serenity Prayer says.