More people today prefer to live alone in comparison to the past. Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Give your opinion and relevant examples to support your view.

There is no doubt that nowadays more and more people want to lead an independent life compared to the past. Some people argue that such a trend has a detrimental effect on our lives, In my opinion, however, living alone has a generally beneficial influence as well.

On the one hand, there are many positive aspects to people living away from their families. This provides the opportunity for these people to live life on their own terms and make any decisions by themselves. Besides, living alone not only makes them independent but also makes them self-reliant, which is a crucial life skill to their successful career. For instance, managing all the house chores such as cleaning, paying bills, cooking and so on will make them well experienced at learning and managing diverse activities and will boost their confidence.

On the other hand, there is no denying the fact that people living away from their family may find themselves in circumstances that may adversely affect their life. These people are more likely to fall prey to bad influence and dangerous activities, such as gambling or alcohol consumption, which may jeopardize their career or lead them astray from moral values. However, this situation is less likely to take place with people still living with their families. Besides, emotional bonding and family relationships can be maintained better if everyone is living together under one roof.

In conclusion, living alone has both pros and cons. In my opinion, the advantages are more significant than the disadvantages, making people more responsible and self-reliant. The disadvantages should be thought of as a certain cost that we have to pay due to the characteristics of the world that we live in.