Nowadays, there are a large number of coffee shops and fast-food vendors on high streets and in town centres. Why are there so many of these outlets?

What effect is this having on the society?

With increasing populations and climbing demands, as well as socio-economic conditions, the number of cafes and fast-food sellers in public areas has become noticeably big. There are multiple reasons for the opening of these outlets, and the societal impact has been varied.

To begin, the cost of living these days has become unbearable in a lot of cities, due to soaring inflation rates. Owing to such financial burdens, people have started ‘mini-ventures,’ by going to the streets to sell items, trying to earn extra money alongside their full-time jobs. The demand aspect of this is not something to gloss over; over the years, more and more people have been eating outside, spending a larger proportion on their income at these locations. Moreover, this could be attributed to the intensity and effort that goes into most day-jobs, with many unable to find the time to cook at home. Hence, these are the motivations for the supply and the demand of these businesses.

The impact of such establishments on society is a bit unclear, as compared to its causes. In my experience, times of financial instability have led to more such vendors, proving to be a sort of signal for contemporary economic conditions. Additionally, the owners of these shops cannot be blamed for making people spend money, and the consumers’ motivations are also genuine. Therefore, I do not see such activities having any effects on society, though these sellers are themselves an effect of their surrounding economic state.

In conclusion, innumerable people have turned to starting small businesses for selling food, as a way to navigate the difficult monetary situations that they are in. It is important to note that not every vendor or consumer may have the same reasons; they may be doing this out of enjoyment or as a hobby. Ultimately, this phenomenon is a ‘looking glass’ into the current socio-economic situation.