In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Transportation has been a great concern in several countries. Some people commend the idea of building new railway systems for fast trains among cities; whereas others suppose that it is necessary to spend money on developing current public transport. I do believe that the latter is far more convincing than the former because of several reasons.

On the one hand, constructing railway networks to link cities bring two significant benefits. Firstly, the networks with very fast trains help shorten time spent on traveling across cities. In fact, if a large amount of time can be saved, people will have more hours spent on working; therefore, work efficiency also increases significantly. Secondly, train systems assist in tackling road accidents and offenses caused by drivers and motorcyclists. Consequently, traveling from cities to cities will be safer, which results in the lower rate of road injuries.

On the other hand, improving public transport in cities is considered a better way to transform cities’ traffic. In terms of traffic congestion, a better public transport system does help a lot. In most developing nations, traffic jams are generally the result of a huge number of motors and cars traveling at the same time; therefore, mitigating the issue will dramatically benefit daily commuters in city centers. From the environment’s perspective, using public transport instead of private cars or motorbikes takes a huge part in reducing air pollution. In big cities like Singapore, Japan, Korea and the like, public transport like buses, underground trains or mass railway trains have contributed greatly in keeping the environment clean because there is just a small amount of dust or smoke released by private vehicles.

From all the above-mentioned, each opinion has its own benefits; however, spending money on renovating public transport is far more practical in today’s society. Governments in developing nations should invest more in improving the environment within big cities by making thorough action to get rid of air pollution caused by daily commuters.