At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.

Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

The young population has taken the elderly over in several nations recently. The current trend has brought both benefits and drawbacks; however, I do believe that the former outweighs the latter because of various convincing reasons.

On the one hand, the increasing number of young adults has caused two significant disadvantages for society. Firstly, it results in a great burden on education. Teenagers who have finished their high schools have to go to vocational schools, colleges, and universities in order to have professional skills for their future career. Therefore, families and governments have to spend a great number of bucks on their study. Secondly, the younger citizens, the more crimes occurred. In some developing countries, social juvenile crimes like child abuse, drug abuse, robbery, road offenses and the like have resulted in various detrimental consequences for society and also individuals.

On the other hand, the significantly large number of young citizens has contributed greatly to society. In terms of a national economy, the trend provides a great number of labor-force. Hardly does the economy develop without the contribution of young employees. In fact, in some industrializing nations, young workers are needed in many fields from heavy industries to modern services. Consequently, the life standard also improves. From the social perspective, the younger generation helps build a fast-moving society. The elderly cannot update the latest news compared to the young adults; therefore, the society with a big number of the youth is full of new fashionable styles and latest trends from all around the world.

From all the above-mentioned, a society with more young citizens than elders also has some disadvantages; however, the advantages are far greater. Authorities should focus on building welfare systems which assist on students’ education to reduce the severe effects of the lack of study.