Some cities create new housing for their growing populations by constructing a smaller number of high-rise buildings. Other cities create more of low-rise buildings. Which solution is better, in your opinion?

In order to address the shortage of housing supply, while some municipalities build detached houses, other municipalities develop condominiums. In my opinion, the latter is the more preferable solution to the problem because the former has some drawbacks as mentioned below.

One of the disadvantages of low-rise buildings such as detached houses is its limited capacity of four or five people per unit at the most. Because of this limitation, if we are going to solve the housing shortage with low-rise housing, we will have to build a large number of those houses. It goes without saying, however, that such a measure is unrealistic given the recent difficulties in local government finances. In fact, according to a study conducted by the Ministry of Public Management in Japan, the budget allocated to housing construction in every municipality has been shrinking year after year. Additionally, it would not hard to imagine that the measure will also require extensive residential site development, resulting in the so-called suburban sprawl phenomenon. One example of this is the suburbs of Tokyo, where the residents are now forced to live an inconvenient life after uncontrolled housing developments in the 1960s.

Another drawback of low-rise buildings is its difficulty in multipurpose uses. Unlike apartment complexes, low-rise buildings such as detached houses lack extra space including common areas, making it difficult to convert them to other purposes in the future. This kind of restriction on use is undesirable given that these housing units are a type of public good developed by municipalities. Indeed, in the latest national audit report, the Board of Audit of Japan criticized some detached houses constructed with governmental subsidies because of the lack of sustainability.

In conclusion, when considering the limitations discussed above, high-rise housing would be more suitable for the answer to the housing shortage problem compared to low-rise housing.