Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes, and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

There are several ideas related to how to bring up children successfully. Some parents agree to let their children make their own decision on almost daily matters; whereas others suppose that it will make kids become people who just think about their own wishes. In my opinion, I do think that we need a balance in both cases.

On the one hand, allowing children to make their own choices on every single problem assists in their future life. First of all, their self-confidence is boosted significantly because of the fact that they can choose what they like and do what they are good at. In fact, American children who are brought up by this method are far maturer and more confident than most Asian kids whose parents are overprotective and always make decisions for them during their upbringings. Second, children will more and more responsible for their choices, especially in their adult lives. Having chosen the wrong things several times results in their attitude that they have to be responsible for their decisions, even the worst ones.

On the other hand, it is said that children who are brought up freely are facing with bad moral lifestyles. In terms of morality, children are likely to become self-centered individuals. Having the right to do anything without a restriction during their childhood makes them think that they are special individuals, which is detrimentally bad for their future career. From the social perspective, hardly can those kids feel others’ suffering like since their needs always fulfilled. For example, my niece does not allow other family members to watch TV because she believes that she is the most important person in the house and everyone has the responsibility to let her enjoy her favorite cartoon channels. Therefore, she has no tolerance for others’ needs.

From all the above-mentioned, parents should allow children to make their own decisions over daily issues within an acceptable frequency in order to result in better later consequences. Our societies need more young people who are confident and selfless to join hand build a better world tomorrow.