Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Thanks to the upsurge of technology and industrialization that people nowadays are mostly equipped with basic living needs. As a result, some people contend that we are having more options than we actually need. However, I just partly agree with this statement since there are some remote areas do not have the opportunities to receive many choices.

On the one hand, people nowadays have a surplus of opportunities. Firstly, we have a variety of food daily, from traditional dishes to international ones, vegetarian food to seafood menus, local fruits and vegetables to imported products and the like. Consequently, citizens are not afraid of the lack of food; however, they are suffering from the overwhelming of what to eat every day. Secondly, the choices of information resources also considered as too much. For example, when looking for a destination for a summer holiday, people are provided with hundreds of suggestions as well as means of transportation and activities should be included in the journey. Additionally, there are also numerous tips and benefits or risks when taking the trip. Therefore, travelers have to spend a great amount of time on digesting the information.

On the other hand, the distribution of opportunities to access these choices is not properly fair since there are still people who are lack of opportunities in rural and undeveloped areas. In fact, citizens in North Korea still do not have choices to catch up with the latest news worldwide. They are not allowed to use the Internet as a device to provide information freely. In addition to that, poor governments in Africa are unable to provide their citizens with a wide range of food, or even fresh and healthy meal. As a result, those people have lived with the lack of choices instead of thousands of opinions like the others in other places.

In conclusion, the abundance of choices is a current phenomenon around the world except for fo several special cases. Governments in industrialized and modern countries should join hand to assist in the development of the unfortunate ones.