Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

opinions are divided as to what measures should be implemented to enhance road safety. Many individuals advocate the idea of increasing the minimum driving age, considering this as the best solution. Whilst I acknowledge several benefits of such a measure, I also hold a firm belief that other alternatives should also be equally important, and therefore demand meticulous consideration.

On the one hand, I contend that raising the minimum age to obtain a driving licence can exert positive influences on road safety. Compared to seemingly novice young drivers, older drivers are likely to deliver quicker and wiser decisions in unexpected or dangerous situations on the road. this can be ascribed to the fact that the older people become, the more experienced and mature they are. A typical example is my father, who got his driving licence at the age of 20 and has been obeying traffic rules since then. In fact, he reflects the image of a meticulous driver by not using his mobile phone while driving probably because he recognises the risks of losing concentration that might result in severe car accidents. Another merit of increasing legal driving age is deemed to offer adolescents ample opportunity to enhance their driving skills. These inexperienced drivers are advised to attend defensive driving courses to accumulate both basic theoretical knowledge and hands-on experience concerning how to address various driving contexts. Accordingly, there will witness a fall in the traffic-related death rate.

On the other hand, I personally side with the idea that improved road safety can be achieved by means of more alternative effective methods in lieu of increasing the minimum driving age. To begin with, more stringent traffic regulations should be imposed, which would act as a deterrent to future traffic law breakers. this is exemplified through the case of Singapore in which road users will be severely fined if jumping the traffic lights, thus making vehicle users and pedestrians more dutiful and law-abiding to preclude future accidents. Furthermore, governments and authorities should consider allocating both financial and human resources for the improvement of public transport, together with related infrastructure, with a view to encouraging the use of buses amongst citizens. if fewer motorbikes or cars are driven, such problems including driving under the influence, falling asleep at the wheel and drowsy driving / sleep-deprived sleeping will no longer occur.

In conclusion, while an increase in the legal driving age might prove beneficial to a certain extent, I am of the opinion that governments should take into account other road safety measures namely stricter traffic laws and better public transport systems.