Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football, while other people think that taking part in individual sports, like tennis or swimming, is better.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people believe that playing sports in teams will bring more benefits while others contend that individual sports are better. Both sides, of course, have their own merits but I think the second view is more valid.

There are several reasons as to why I am of the opinion that individual sports are more beneficial. Firstly, playing individual sports helps players to foster their independence instead of relying on others. This comes from the fact that when people participate in sports that are played individually, they will have to learn to formulate their own strategies and master their own skills in order to beat the other opponent, which forces them to think and act independently. A perfect example would be playing chess which requires a single player to practice flexible tactics, thereby boosting their independent thinking. Secondly, those who take part in individual sports can learn to take responsibility for their own actions since whether succeeding or defeated in a game, they are the only ones that are responsible for their own results. In contrast, if playing in a team, one member might blame others when they lose.

However, it is also true that team sports bring about some benefits. The most obvious advantage of playing these sports is that players tend to have good teamwork skills as they are always required to collaborate with other teammates in order to achieve a common goal. A good example of this is playing football in which all members from goalkeeper, defenders to attackers have to work in close cooperation to score a goal. Another merit of team sports is that they create a good chance for everyone involved to socialise and widen their circle of friends by virtue of meeting new people.

It can still be argued, though, that the benefits gained from individual sports including being self-reliant and becoming responsible are more important for one’s personal development and success in life than do those from team sports.

Therefore, while to a certain extent, it is true that team sports is beneficial for players in developing teamwork skills and social relationships, I strongly believe that those who play individual sports will have more advantages in the long run.