Some people think that sending criminals to prison is not effective. Education and job training should be used instead. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, opinions are often divided as to what measures prove effective to deal with criminals. Many hold a firm belief that imprisonment is no longer a justifiable measure, and therefore should be substituted with education opportunities, as well as career training courses. From my perspective, this idea seems partially reasonable, which will be meticulously explained as follows.

On the one hand, I am of the opinion that imprisonment needs to be maintained as a method to address offenders. In particular, sending those individuals who broke the law and violated regulations to prison has long been deemed a severe punishment, allowing for the realisation of dangerous legal acts amongst criminals. As a result, they are likely to think twice and avoid re-offending after serving, for example, a five-year sentence at the expense of either misdemeanours or serious crimes. what is more, if lawbreakers are put in jail, their life in prison can act as real-life examples warning the others who might generate some motives to commit crimes. this is perfectly exemplified through the case of drug trafficking in several countries in which traffickers are given up to 10-year sentences. Recent research has asserted a reduction of drug-related cases and juvenile crimes, closely linked to the verdict of sending offenders to prison.

On the other hand, I side with the idea that more education and employment opportunities are provided so as to assist criminals in their life. this measure, if implemented appropriately, will offer lawbreakers a host of chances to rehabilitate prior to their reintegration into society. By means of job training, criminals might be given potential likelihoods with a view to earning a living, thereby reducing the probability of re-offending. More importantly, various lessons in educational institutions are believed to empower offenders in terms of better understanding of the law in a quest of becoming law-abiding citizens in the long run. these lessons could range from distinguishing from the right and the wrong to mitigating mental issues and eliminating the feeling of guilt before criminals return to the society.

In conclusion, I still highly value the significance of imprisonment on account of its representation as a stringent punishment and a wake-up call for potential offenders. Nevertheless, I also advocate incorporating training sessions and courses concerning education and employment for criminals’ future rehabilitation. It is, therefore, suggested that the governments and authorities thoroughly consider these two methods before making any decisions to best deal with criminal problems.