Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, with the advancement of technology, modes of communication are becoming increasingly diversified. Having said that, however, it is particularly the ones in speaking and writing which have occupied significant positions throughout history. Although some people may think that the former is a more effective way of communication, I personally take issue with this argument for the reasons described below.

First of all, whereas written communication is always recorded, spoken one is not. Because of this, it is often difficult to retrospectively confirm who said what and when. As a result, this can lead to a so-called “he said, she said” problem, obscuring where responsibility lies. In some cases, oral communication is even intentionally adopted for this purpose. One of the latest examples of this in Japan is a series of political scandals related to educational administration, where the government officials involved sorely relied upon oral communication not to leave any trails. In fact, even though there has been a long debate in the parliament over this issue, it is hard to say that the truth has been fully clarified.

Secondly, compared to written communication, while verbal one is superior in flexibility, it is, therefore, more prone to ambiguity. As an example, if you have experience in transcription, you would know that, no matter how many hours people talk in a meeting, they often understand the things differently, ending up with little agreement on the topic: in other words, there are only two monologues, not a dialogue. This is the reason why written contracts are highly recommended for important transactions, such as buying and selling real estate. In these cases, what is required is not flexibility but accuracy.

In conclusion, I suppose that written communication would be more efficacious than oral one as the means of information transfer because of its verifiability and correctness.