Task 2: Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments

rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

It is said that the governments rather than private companies should take responsibility for conducting and controlling scientific research. I completely concur with this opinion.

There are reasons why I support this idea. First and foremost, while research by private corporations puts the emphasis on maximising financial profits, the governments make use of scientific studies to benefit society as a whole. This can be illustrated by the governments’ environment-related studies on greenhouse effects, global warming and deforestation which all deal with urgent issues in the world. Additionally, without the control of the governments, private companies might be involved with illegal research such as nuclear or biological weapons, posing a serious threat to humankind. More importantly, the results of scientific research conducted by the governments are more reliable. As their research has a great impact on the public, the governments make their best efforts to ensure the accuracy of their research outcomes. In contrast, private orgnisations may highlight only the benefits of their products while neglecting the negative ones. For instance, companies like Starbuck only propagate the belief that coffee is beneficial to health so as to attract more consumers.

Granted, it is true that encouraging private companies to conduct scientific research could help lighten the financial burden on the governments and promote the freedom of researching in the scientific community. Still, I would like to emphasise that only with the governments’ control can the research results be guaranteed.

Considering all the arguments put forward, I have arrived at the conclusion that it is much better to let the governments control and conduct scientific studies.