Tourism is one of the fastest growing industries and contributes a great deal to economies around the world. However, the damage tourism can cause to local cultures and the environment is often ignored.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Tourism becomes the biggest impact for national economic, while domestic tradition and environment often be ignored since tourism becomes popular. I agree that notion, because there is no limitation for foreign people and environmental impact assessment.

Initially, foreign people restriction is important, since they bring their culture and habit. It could be a huge impact for local culture, because the huge differences between western and eastern provide ambiguity in society. Putting more simply, local culture is contrasted to western, furthermore it is not suitable to be applied in regional community, so limitation is needed to guarantee that there is no conflict between two different culture. For example, overseas people have a tendency to drink alcohol, but in Indonesian community is forbidden.

In addition, the building of tourism often tends to create a bad impact for environment because there is no proper environmental impact assessment (EPA), thus EPA is important to warranty that the organization would protect the environment when they are building the tourism. To put it simply, if there is no EPA, the company should have forbidden to build tourism, because it could be a bad impact for that. For example, in East Borneo, Indonesia, the plan to build new Indonesian capital city be predicted makes deforestation.

In conclusion, even tourism contributed to GDP’s countries, since there is no limitation for overseas people and environmental impact assessment, it could create negative impact for domestic culture and environment. Where possible, the government should makes a law for foreign people to respect local culture and the investor should be banned if they do not have EPA as a requirement.