For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

Reading, writing and mathematics have been the significant parts of education system since many years. Few masses opine that computers which is an emerging option, should also be included as the another part of this system. I strongly believe that inculcating the computer education along with other three crucial parts of studies could have more benefits to the learners.

Learning computers can have detrimental effects on the mental reasoning and other cognitive abilities of the learners. Students learning computers along with other important skills become dependent on these, so they cannot do even simple calculations using their analytical skills alone. For instance, youngsters who could do calculations without scientific devices are very rare. Hence, other three mandatory skills like ability to read, write or do mathematical calculations are also greatly influenced, for their copious dependence on computers.

In contrast, no educational learning, nowadays, is effective without the inclusion of advanced teaching methodology, and computer is never an exception. From the application of smart classes in pre-schools to the online courses of advanced tertiary education,computers have played a vital role towards process effectiveness. For example, computer aided machines have enabled the development of three-dimensional prototypes for better understanding the engineering of a material. Moreover, other three vital components of education system such as reading, math and writing are incomplete and outdated without computers.

To conclude, computational skills, in addition to other basic modules, are fruitful for the educational mechanism, thereby adding to its value. This could be helpful in morphing the students into men of parts, thus aiding them to scale new heights around the globe by achieving the education more efficiently.