Cycling is more environment friendly than other forms of transport. Why it is not popular in many places? How can its popular be increased?

Cycling is a perfect exercise which enables people to be super fit and it also decreases the usage of other fuelled vehicles to a great extent. Additionally, it is considered to be the optimum solution to safeguard our environment from air pollution. However, some countries are not using this medium of transport for various reasons. In the following passage, I will explain the factors why it is not familiarised among nations and measures to improve its usage.

Do some nations have a separate cycle path? No. People are hesitant to drive cycle due to unavailability of dedicated path. Most of them have a fear that they might indulge with accident while driving in congested roads. There is a sense of insecurity spread among locals that driving cycle is unsafe. For instance, in India, as statistics say, more children are being injured while driving cycles to their schools. Moreover, parking in cities is another obstacle where people have to spend more money even though it is unsecured. Furthermore, the increasing prices of bicycles are affordable to middles class people. Therefore, the above are the various causes for its unpopularity in some countries.

When the government reduce the tax rate on bicycles, more youngsters will be interested to buy them and this will prevent them from obese. For example, in corporate companies they are providing cycles at discounted rates to their employees. Hence, this enables them to use it for their commutation. Planning cities and towns with cycle path is an extremely intricate process, but that administration department should include this facility to their plan. Thus, it is believed, affordable pricing and sufficient parking amenities will foster people to use cycles for their commutation.

To sum up, as the proverb says, “prevention is better than cure”. Youngsters should incubate the use of cycles as an integral part of their life, which will have avenue of benefit to their appearance as wells as for the environment too.