It is a positive thing that people who are in senior management positions in companies have much higher salaries than other employees in the same company or organization.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The fairness of workers’ income in association with their hard work has always sparked heated debates. While paying higher wages to employees in senior administrative positions is considered the norm these days, a controversy arises as to if it is a positive trend or not. Even though I agree with paying a higher rate to management positions, I oppose significant difference between the income of those of higher ranks and inferior positions.

On the one hand, senior positions deserve to be paid higher wages. Firstly, they have more responsibility. It is those with higher ranks that are the focal points of investigations if something goes wrong; therefore, they should be paid accordingly. For instance, recently, one of the managers of NDH company located in Mordor, which produces consumable goods, was found guilty and condemned to 10 years in prison because of some poisoning-related deaths. Secondly, the majority of people who have senior positions have earned their status by more than decades of hard work and persistence. Statistics show that 90 percent of managers in companies are experienced employees who have climbed the ladder of their careers based on merits.

On the other hand, a significant difference between the senior positions’ salary and that of lower positions create a serious problem because it lowers morale. It is demoralizing for laborers to see their contribution and hard labor is not being appreciated and they are unjustly being paid significantly less than people with higher ranks who work in a more comfortable atmosphere. General workers carry the burden of strenuous physical work and if they are not paid handsomely, it may cause dissatisfaction and consequently, cease of work due to strikes.

All in all, based on the aforementioned explanation, while I concur that senior positions should be paid higher rates due to their responsibility and experience, it should not have a significant difference with laborers because it can be problematic.