It is seen that small shops and local markets are losing their influence because of supermarkets and malls.

Shopping is a rudimentary need of human beings for buying day-to-day stuff or some luxury item for a special occasion. With advent of big malls,is smaller business loosing their importance?This essay attempts to reflect on this topic.

Shopping malls draw more customers to shop at the shore in their premises and the primary reason people are allured to buy from supermarket is attraction to buy from big brands that are easily available at these outlets. Generally, big brands retail their products through the shops present in the big malls. Another reason is the convenience that the shopping malls offer to the consumers such parking and private security guards.Right from a pin to plane,a supermarket offers everything a customer would need under one roof. People can watch a movie; have pleasant dining experience and, shop at a convenience shop which offers wide range and variety of products.Shopping arcades these days also, aim to offer live entertainment by inviting TV personas or host magic shows to keep little ones busy while the parent shops. Shopping precincts offers sales during festive seasons like “Christmas”, which tempts customer to shop and save huge money.

Despite these offerings, the little corner shops will never loose its importance. For those unplanned and urgent errands, one will always prefer to shop from a close by shops. People love to buy their fresh fruits and vegetables from the local shop. Further, owners of small shops offer better customer attention and give customized services to the shoppers. If some endeared item of is sold off, the sales rep would reorder them for their buyers. In many communities, a small neighborhood shop offers a place to socialize and catch up on the latest news of the town. In small towns, flea markets are open on a particular day of the week to sell specialty items sourced. These markets are frequented

by many tourists for the rare and unique items available at these markets like local handicraft.

Based on the discussion above, every market has different experience to offer to its customers. Based on each need, consumers tend to buy either from shopping center or local shop.