Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

At present, our world has been evolving due to various technological inventions, hence, many

people prefer emails, documents, etc, instead of hand-written letters. They also believe that it

is the easiest mode of communication when compared to our traditional letters.

In my opinion, I strongly agree to this thought, which will be explained in the

following passage, with suitable example.

Modern communications medium such as e-letter and email are tending to be very safe with the help of encrypting options. Also, the documents can be sent to multiple recipients instantly with much less cost. For instance, at the moment, various banks and insurance companies send their intimation letters through email to their clients. On the flip side, hand written letters consume more space to store them, as well as more chances are there to get misplaced. For these reasons, electronic letters are the effective medium over convention letters.

Decades ago, people write letters to their closed ones or friends which created bonding among them. Moreover, when they see old letters it helped them to recollect vivid memories. Some feel that electronic letters are considered to be formal mode of communication where such bonding cannot be made. Furthermore, many kids write letters to our leaders, and immediate action is been taken on the concerns they mention in the letter, which shows the importance of such hand- written letters. Similarly, people exhibit their artistic skills very effectively in our conventional letters. Thus, traditional letters are being considered as the effective medium to create bonding and weighted more by some higher officials.

In conclusion, even though hand written letters have been considered as more instrumental way to share our thoughts than electronic letters. Considering less time and safety is the paramount electronic letters are preferred medium of many people, which is my thought too.