More and more people are competing for a place to study in universities. Reasons? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It seems to be an increasing trend that fighting for higher education is fiercer than ever. And generally, education is the main driving force behind the development of a good economy so this is a good sign. I think that the main reason for this phenomenon is people are seeking for better education in order to have a better career.

In the past, highly educated was not the focus in people’s life when many jobs required little to none qualification, working-class who aimed for a considerate life usually contented with those hand-to-mouth jobs. But this is no longer the case. With the advancement of technology and science, high educated candidates potentially have a higher chance of better employment, thus more and more people are after studies in universities. As the result, with higher demands, places in universities and colleges become more competitive.

Another reason leading to this happening is that people are, on average, richer compared to 50 years ago. Since more people could afford the expensive university fee, they are naturally enrolled in it. For example, when my father was 18 years old, my grandparents were so poor that they couldn’t afford to let him study at the university, thus he had to find a job.

Needless to say, competing for university is a very positive trend. More people compete for university education leads to a more qualified workforce. University and higher education definitely are creating more scientists, economists, engineers that are building the world and helping it to become a better place.

In summary, competition, in any field, is a good sign that indicated the said field is developing well. Competition in education, more than any other field, is a welcome issue that any country is willing to have.