Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

These days, tourism has become one of most profitable enterprises amongst industry giants, however, it is believed that it creates more turmoil than bringing people closer to each other. Conversely, I am not convinced that this is true. While I agree that it might cause some misunderstandings, I strenuously believe it has worked as a medium to enrich understanding between people. In this essay, the reasons behind my opinion are comprehensively explained.

On the one hand, admittedly, there are some drawbacks in the flourishing of tourism. Firstly, it might cause disturbance for some people. Increasing number of visitors may interrupt the daily lives of those who live in tourist destinations, which may be the reason for escalating tension. Secondly, some behaviors are considered insulting in some countries. Take alcohol consumption as an example. In many countries drinking alcoholic beverages is averse to the local people’s religious beliefs; hence, drinking the mentioned by tourists may produce problems.

On the other hand, Tourism has undeniable prominent advantages in bringing people closer to each other. First and perhaps the most benefit is that it spreads different cultures among the inhabitants of this earth. People get acquainted with different cultures; therefore, understand each other’s customs and traditions. For example, women with Muslim ethnicity are forbidden to shake hands with men. One that has traveled to Muslim countries and is familiar with their traditions understands that it is a religious rule and is not an insult. Moreover, tourism brings people closer to each other via kindness for the unfortunate. Tourists that visit deprived countries such as those located in Africa bring international help by attracting international sympathy. As a tangible example, statistics show due to the booming of Africa-tourism from 1980 on, a lot of food has been sent to undeveloped countries that are facing with hunger.

By the way of conclusion, while there are some downsides to the international tourism, on the basis of the points made above, I am not convinced that it has created more tension than bringing people closer to each other. I firmly support the increasing rate of tourism and believe that because of it, people are more understanding and sympathetic toward others.