Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed.What is the reason for doing this?Is this a negative or positive development?

Recently more and more children feel pressure from their parents to be successful in the future. In this essay, I will write about the possible causes why parents put such pressure on their children as well as about the advantages and disadvantages of this development.

One of the obvious causes brought about this development is that it has become significantly difficult to find a job. Finding a job without making any efforts is so difficult that, for example, some parents do not indulge but train their children in a strict manner so that the children understand the importance of endurance. Without such discipline, it is not surprising if a child would be a failure in his or her adult life. Another reason for this development is that nowadays parents tend to have fewer children. Today more and more both parents work, or it costs more to bring up children, and as a result, the number of children in a family is decreasing. Previously parents’ expectations were shared among siblings but now fewer children are burdened with all of them.

One advantage of this development is, obviously, children today would be more persevering and resilient than ones in former days were. As I wrote above, children already know a lot of things about the importance of perseverance and resilience since they are young. The more they know the importance through the pressure from their parents, the more they make efforts, and they become successful in their future. However, such pressure from parents can be dangerous at times. There are a not-so-small number of children who are mentally disordered as they cannot withstand the pressure, especially they are at puberty. Some suffer from depression or, in the worst case scenario, commit suicide.

All in all, pressure from parents have made it easier that their children live in the harsh world of reality, but at the same time, we should be aware that there are dangers behind such pressure.