People should focus more on solving problems related to the future, and should not spend time thinking about the past.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

These days, an ample emphasis has been placed on tackling the challenges that may emerge in the future. Thence, it is claimed that people should stop thinking too much about the past. Instead, it is more lucrative to endeavor to solve problems of the future. While the mentioned notion has some merit and one should not be stuck in the past, I strenuously believe in the past should not be abandoned.

On the one hand, focusing on problems to come is advantageous. First and perhaps the most prominent benefit of this is that if more effort is put into solving a problem in the future, society will be ready when the problem surface. For example, if proper predictive measures were investigated in advance, the drought of 1940’s which claimed the life of 10 million people would have been averted. Secondly, paying more attention to the future will not only prevent disasters to harm present generation, but the future of the posterity will also be secured. To elaborate, many inventions may be considered extravagant and impractical these days, but they may ease the life of our children. For instance, in 1915’s, the automobile was a luxurious invention that a scarce number of people could afford. Nonetheless, inventors saw the imperative potential of it to solve the limitation of transport, which benefited the later generations.

On the other hand, as the quote says ‘He who does not know the history, is condemned to repeat it’, not thinking and knowing about the past can have irreversible consequences. Whereas by thinking about the mistakes that were made in the past, one can discover the flaws and avoid the repetition of the same mistake. Moreover, many problems have been seeded in the past and have not emerged yet. Therefore, by taking a look at the past these can be identified.

To sum up, based on the aforementioned explanations, I believe there should be a balance between focusing on the future and examining what happened before.