Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

There is no doubt that the advertisement has entered in every field of life but there are some advertising methods which are immoral and cannot be accepted by civilized societies. I strongly believe that advertisement has taken the shape which is unsolicitous and insidious and therefore, it cannot be encouraged. This essay will first discuss how advertisement has been badly affected our young generation, and then discuss it from the perspective of social problems that have been created by it.

Advertisement of tobacco and alcoholic products has long been a controversial issue, yet, in many countries, restrictions are not being imposed on advert of alcoholic products by the Government in the same way as on cigarettes .therefore, it is quite possible that their advertisement is encouraging excessive and underage drinking. for example, a recent report of the newspaper revealed that consumption of liquor in youngsters as increased a lot than the previous year, just because of fancy advertisement.

Another aspect of the advertisement that I think unethical is that it encourages people to buy things which they do not need or they cannot afford them. Children and particularly girls are being enticed by the attractive advertisement to buy expensive toys and clothes, and it increases financial pressure on parents. Moreover, advertising boards of these kinds of products are placed by the companies on our streets. As they are made of components which are not disposable, streets are becoming full of litter.

In conclusion, companies with the latest technology have found the ways to violate our personal space, and they are dangerous, intrusive and irritating at the same time.