Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

Some children, these days, have an ample number of toys at their disposal. This essay tends to explain the benefit of this trend; thereafter, it will discuss that it may cause children to be spoiled.

One aspect which illustrates the benefit of buying a lot of toys for the little ones can be identified as its effect on developing offspring’s hard-skills. Children play with a variety of toys, thereby increasing their intellect, which in turn allows them to think and act more rationally. Research conducted by Arman Kazemi, a world-renowned child psychologist, has acknowledged that owning a large number of toys makes children’s behavior more logical, and in fact, they are more intelligent than their peers who have fewer dolls. Nevertheless, there is an important drawback to this trend.

Another angle of thoughts on toddler’s ownership of too many toys suggests they might be spoiled. If parents buy too many toys for their children, they will not become familiar with the constraints of life, decreasing their tolerance toward difficulties in life, which in turn will cause them to be incompetent when they have to rely on their own in the real world, therein lies the problem, the real world is where they have to live in when they grow up. Statistics of a study done by the Harvard University in 2015, for instance, showed 87 percent of children who have been raised in privileged families and were provided by a plethora of entertainment means, have difficulty with living independently when they grow up. This evidence illustrates the risk of being spoiled if surrounded by lots of toys.

It is clear that providing kids with a large number of toys may help them to improve their hard-skills, nonetheless, it is possible that this method may render them less able to stand on their own feet when they grow up.